List Of Universities in Edo State

Universities in Edo State

Sponsored Links

Edo State, located in the heart of the South-South geopolitical zone of Nigeria, is a vibrant hub of academic excellence and cultural heritage.

This comprehensive guide delves into the universities in Edo State, exploring their unique offerings, programs, and contributions to the local community and beyond.

Whether you are a high school graduate navigating the next chapter of your education, a parent seeking the best educational path for your child, or simply curious about the academic landscape in Edo State, this article provides valuable insights to guide your journey.

Universities in Edo State

Edo State is home to a distinguished array of universities, each offering its own unique blend of academic programs,research initiatives, and student experiences. Here’s a closer look at the prominent institutions:

  • University of Benin (UNIBEN): Established in 1970, UNIBEN is a prestigious federal university known for its expansive campus, diverse range of academic programs, and commitment to research and innovation.

  • Ambrose Alli University (AAU): Situated in Ekpoma, AAU is a state-owned university named after the renowned Professor Ambrose Folorunsho Alli. Founded in 1981, AAU has consistently provided quality education and established itself as a reputable institution in Edo State.


  • Edo State University, Uzairue (EDSU): Established in 2016, EDSU is a young and dynamic state-owned university located in Uzairue. EDSU aims to provide quality education and promote research and development in various fields.  

Private Universities in Edo State

Edo State boasts a vibrant landscape of private universities, offering students alternative pathways to higher education.

See also  Christopher University School Fees For Nursing (2024)

These universities are known for their innovative curricula, specialized programs, and personalized attention to students.

Here are some of the prominent private universities in Edo State:

  • Benson Idahosa University (BIU): Located in Benin City, BIU is a private Christian university founded in 1993.BIU offers a unique blend of academic excellence and Christian values, fostering a holistic learning environment. The university offers programs in various disciplines, including theology, business administration, law, computer science, and more.


  • Igbinedion University Okada (IUO): Located in Okada Town, IUO is a private university founded in 1999. IUO is known for its modern facilities, strong industry linkages, and focus on entrepreneurship. The university offers programs in various disciplines, including medicine, engineering, law, humanities, and more.


  • Wellspring University: Established in 2009, Wellspring University is a private university located in Evbuobanosa.The university offers a unique educational experience that combines academic rigor with practical training and a focus on leadership development.

Admission Requirements and Application Process

Each university in Edo State has its specific admission requirements and application procedures. However, there are some general guidelines to keep in mind:

  • Minimum O’Level Requirements: Applicants must possess a minimum of five credit passes in relevant subjects at the Senior Secondary Certificate Examination (SSCE) or equivalent.

  • Direct Entry Admission: For holders of relevant diplomas or Advanced Level certificates, direct entry into higher national diploma (HND) programs may be possible.

  • Application Process: Applications are typically submitted online or in person at the designated university admissions office. Deadlines vary depending on the university and program.

  • Selection Process: Admission decisions are based on academic merit, performance in entrance examinations (if applicable), and other relevant criteria.


Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button