School Guide

List of Polytechnics That Are Not Under ASUU

Polytechnics That Are Not Under ASUU

Sponsored Links

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) strikes have become a recurring theme in the Nigerian academic landscape, causing significant disruptions and uncertainties for students.

While universities grapple with these challenges, polytechnics offer an alternative pathway for quality education, often remaining unscathed by ASUU’s industrial actions.

This begs the question: which polytechnics are not under ASUU, and how can you navigate your educational journey beyond the strike cycle?


Polytechnics vs. Universities Under ASUU:

It’s crucial to understand the fundamental difference between polytechnics and universities under ASUU. Universities, affiliated with ASUU, focus on theoretical knowledge and academic research, awarding bachelor’s degrees and beyond.

Polytechnics, on the other hand, prioritize practical skills and vocational training, equipping students with industry-relevant expertise through diplomas and Higher National Diplomas (HNDs).

Therefore, polytechnics, by virtue of their distinct academic mandate and non-affiliation with ASUU, operate independently of ASUU strikes.

This makes them an attractive option for students seeking stability and uninterrupted academic progress.

List of Polytechnics Not Under ASUU:

Here’s a glimpse into the diverse landscape of polytechnics in Nigeria that are not under ASUU:

  • Federal Polytechnics: Yaba College of Technology, Auchi Polytechnic, Akure Polytechnic, Kaduna Polytechnic, Nekede Polytechnic, Ede Polytechnic, Offa Polytechnic, Ilaro Polytechnic, Mubi Polytechnic, and many more.


  • State Polytechnics: Lagos State Polytechnic, Ibadan Polytechnic, Ogun State Polytechnic, Kano State Polytechnic, Rivers State Polytechnic, Anambra State Polytechnic, and numerous others across the country.
See also  Madonna University, Nigeria School Fees For Medicine And Surgery (2024)


  • Private Polytechnics: Lagos Business School, Igbinedion University Okada, Skyline University Kano, Babcock University Polytechnic, Bowen University Polytechnic, and a multitude of private institutions throughout Nigeria.


What are the best polytechnics in Nigeria that are not under ASUU?

There’s no single “best” as it depends on your program interest and location. Research reputable institutions like Yaba College of Technology, Lagos State Polytechnic, or private options like Igbinedion University Okada based on your specific criteria.

Do all polytechnics offer HNDs?

Not all, but many do. Research specific programs at your preferred institutions to confirm HND availability.

Can I transfer from a university to a polytechnic not under ASUU?

Yes, it’s possible. Contact the admissions department of your desired polytechnic for transfer procedures and credit transfer policies.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button